Understanding How InsideView Integrates with Social Media

Follow

Overview

InsideView provides customers and users the ability to access social media channels (Facebook and/or Twitter) from within InsideView for Sales, enabling them to view the social media activity of companies and people they’re interested in alongside news, insights, and firmographics—and to engage directly with those companies and people—without leaving the application.

We also exercise controls that ensure the privacy and security of our users, and provide options for customers who choose to restrict their users’ social media access.

This article outlines the social media features that are available through InsideView and the controls that protect customers and individual users.

Individual authorization

Individual users may access Facebook and/or Twitter through InsideView, at their discretion, and provided they give authorization. Absent any account-level controls (which we will cover below), we leave the choice entirely up to our users.

Individual users must authorize InsideView to access their social network accounts. For users who choose not to perform this action, the only difference in user experience is lack of information within the InsideView interface. Information from InsideView’s database, such as firmographics and news, will appear, but tweets and Facebook posts will not.

Users may log into their social network accounts at any time and de-authorize InsideView access in the account settings.

InsideView’s use of social network tokens

When users authorize InsideView to access social networks, InsideView submits the user’s tokens to show posts and tweets by companies and people in the InsideView interface (Insights and Buzz/Social Buzz), as well as mentions by other sources. Tokens are also submitted to reply, retweet, comment, share, and like posts.

So, users who authorize InsideView to access their social media accounts will be able not only to view social media activity, but also to engage in it, from within InsideView for Sales.

(Note: when a user clicks on a hyperlink—such as a hashtag, an @-mention, or a profile name—the user’s web browser will open a new page directly to that site.)

Security

InsideView actively protects the security of our users’ social media communications.

  • Tokens are stored in the user database, which is logically segregated by user. User data are not shared or published by InsideView.
  • A limited number of authorized InsideView personnel have access to the user database. Those access controls are governed by our ISO 27001 certified information security management system.
  • Communications to social networks from InsideView are only via HTTPS.
  • InsideView does not store direct messages, personal messages, or outgoing posts by users.

For more information, please see our Security page at insideview.com/security or review our latest privacy policy at insideview.com/privacy-policy.

Account-level controls

Some companies choose to limit their employees’ access to social media. For example, financial institutions commonly prohibit employees from engaging in social media activity on company devices, due to the extreme legal, regulatory and reputational risks connected to the exposure of sensitive information.

InsideView enables customers to control the level of social network access available to their licensed users. One option is to disable social network access altogether.

But we also support a “passive” or “read-only” social media experience. This option is for customers who want to enable their InsideView users to view the social media activity of others, but also need to prevent users from actively communicating through social media. We do this by limiting the tokens that we submit with user authorization: we submit only the tokens that enable users to view posts, while withholding the tokens that support interactions like retweeting, commenting, and liking. Users are still required to give authorization to access their social network accounts; their authorization just doesn’t go quite as far as above.

If you wish to configure your account to allow only passive usage of social media by your users (or to completely disable access to social media) please contact your Customer Success Manager. Account-level controls are custom features, and InsideView will have to configure them for you.

The following table summarizes the differences between the "active" (standard) social media user experience, the "passive" experience, and the experience of a user for whom all social media integrations are disabled at the account level:

  Active Passive Disabled
View user profiles Yes Yes No
View posts Yes Yes No
Comment/Like/Share (Facebook) Yes No No
Tweet/Reply/Retweet/Favorite (Twitter) Yes No No
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk